Awarded Grants

Photo: Fabretto

Listed below are 2021 grants in our areas for interest. You may scroll to see all areas, use the navigation links at bottom, or use a search to find grants.

2021 Expanding Opportunities for Youth and Families

Organization Name Organization Website Project Name Amount Awarded
30,000 Feet 30kft.art Unrestricted $25,000
Advancing Equity Coalition advancingequitycoalition.org Unrestricted $15,000
Amherst H. Wilder Foundation wilder.org Child Development Center (payable over three years) $120,000
Athletes Committed to Educating Students (ACES) aces4kids.org Unrestricted $15,000
Augsburg College augsburg.edu Debate Team $15,000
Baby's Space: A Place to Grow babyspace.org Unrestricted $20,000
Black Men Teach blackmenteachtc.org Unrestricted $15,000
Breakthrough Twin Cities breakthroughtwincities.org Unrestricted $30,000
Centro Tyrone Guzman centromn.org Unrestricted $25,000
Children's Defense Fund Minnesota cdf-mn.org Freedom Schools $30,000
CLUES clues.org Youth in Action (YA!) $20,000
ComMUSICation commusicationmn.org Unrestricted $15,000
Comunidades Organizando el Poder y la Acción Latina (or COPAL) copalmn.org Unrestricted $15,000
Cultural Wellness Center culturalwellnesscenter.org Unrestricted $25,000
East Side Learning Center eastsidelearningcenter.org Unrestricted $10,000
Ed Allies edalliesmn.org Unrestricted $20,000
Education Evolving educationevolving.org Unrestricted $15,000
Educators for Excellence e4e.org Unrestricted $30,000
Great MN Schools greatmnschools.org Unrestricted $15,000
Greater Minneapolis Community Connections gmcc.org GMCC Family and Youth Development $15,000
Greater Twin Cities United Way gennextmsp.org Unrestricted $15,000
Hallie Q. Brown Community Center hallieqbrown.org Childcare Center $20,000
Headway Emotional Health headway.org Infant Home Visits and Spirit Program $15,000
Hiawatha Academies hiawathaacademies.org Parent Engagement $20,000
Interfaith Action of Greater Saint Paul interfaithaction.org American Indian Youth Enrichment $15,000
Jeremiah Program jeremiahprogram.org Unrestricted $20,000
Ka Joog Nonprofit Organization kajoog.org Unrestricted $15,000
Karen Organization of Minnesota mnkaren.org Unrestricted $15,000
Keystone Community Services keystoneservices.org Unrestricted $45,000
KIPP Minnesota kippminnesota.org Kipp through High School $20,000
Minneapolis Public Schools mpls.k12.mn.us Data Analyst for SEL $70,000
Minnesota African Women's Association (MAWA) mawanet.org Unrestricted $15,000
Minnesota Education Equity Partnership mneep.org Unrestricted $20,000
Minnesota Parent Union mnparentunion.org Unrestricted $15,000
Neighborhood House neighb.org PECE $25,000
New Vision Foundation nu-viz.org Unrestricted $15,000
Northside Achievement Zone northsideachievement.org Unrestricted $150,000
Northside Boxing Club northsideboxing.org Unrestricted $15,000
Phyllis Wheatley Community Center phylliswheatley.org Unrestricted $20,000
Plymouth Christian Youth Center pcyc-mpls.org Unrestricted $20,000
Project for Pride in Living ppl-inc.org Youth and Parenting Services $20,000
Reading Partners readingpartners.orglocationtwin-cities Twin Cities Tutoring $25,000
Saint Paul Promise Neighborhood wilder.orgcommunity-impactsaint-paul-promise-neighborhood Unrestricted (payable over three years) $130,000
ServeMinnesota serveminnesota.org Family Childcare Reading Corps $20,000
Southside Family Nurturing Center ssfnc.org Unrestricted $20,000
Teach For America, Inc. teachforamerica.org Unrestricted $20,000
The Banyan Community banyancommunity.org Unrestricted $75,000
The Blake School blakeschool.org LearningWorks $15,000
The Family Partnership thefamilypartnership.org Multicultural Therapeutic Preschools $40,000
The Sanneh Foundation thesannehfoundation.org Unrestricted $20,000
Think Small thinksmall.org Unrestricted $15,000
Urban Roots MN urbanrootsmn.org Unrestricted $15,000
Voices for Racial Justice voicesforracialjustice.org Unrestricted $20,000
Washburn Center for Children washburn.org Unrestricted $25,000
Way to Grow mplswaytogrow.org Unrestricted $50,000
WE WIN Institute, Inc. we-win.org Unrestricted $15,000
Wildflower Schools wildflowerschools.org Unrestricted $15,000
YMCA of the North ymcanorth.org Beacons Program $20,000
Youthprise youthprise.org Minnesota Afterschool Advance $20,000

2021 Strengthening Developing Communities

Central America
Organization Name Organization Website Project Name Amount Awarded
Agua Para La Vida aplv.org Tech School $11,000
Common Hope commonhope.org Unrestricted $25,000
CREA creanicaragua.org Unrestricted $15,000
Fabretto Children's Foundation fabretto.org Fabretto’s SAT program (payable over two years) $100,000
Glasswing International glasswing.org Glasswing International Community Schools $10,000
Groundswell International groundswellinternational.org Unrestricted $30,000
Guatemalan Tomorrow Fund Inc thegtfund.org Unrestricted $30,000
Mama Hope mamahope.org Unrestricted $25,000
Pueblo a Pueblo, Inc (fiscally sponsored by Natik) puebloapueblo.org Unrestricted $22,000
Seeds for Progress Foundation seedsforprogress.org Unrestricted $20,000
Thousand Currents thousandcurrents.org Unrestricted (payable over two years) $120,000
West, East, and Southern Africa
Organization Name Organization Website Project Name Amount Awarded
African Visionary Fund (fiscally sponsored by KBFUS) africanvisionary.org Unrestricted $11,000
Center for Renewable Energy and Appropriate Technology for the Environment (CREATE!) createaction.org Unrestricted $10,000
Eastern Congo Initiative easterncongo.org the Asili project (payable over two years) $100,000
Friends of Raising the Village Incorporated raisingthevillage.org Unrestricted (payable over two years) $50,000
Mavuno (fiscally sponsored by KBFUS) mavuno.org Unrestricted $11,000
One Village Partners onevillagepartners.org Unrestricted (payable over two years) $120,000
Partners in Food Solutions partnersinfoodsolutions.com Unrestricted $10,000
Root Capital rootcapital.org Eastern DRC $40,000
The CHAIN COLLABORATIVE thechaincollaborative.org Unrestricted $10,000
The Nature Conservancy nature.org/minnesota Tuungane (payable over two years) $120,000
WellShare International wellshareinternational.org Strive and Thrive Groups $30,000

2022 Sustaining Environmental Systems Pilot

Organization Organization Website Purpose Amount Awarded
Dream of Wild Health dreamofwildhealth.org Unrestricted $8,000
Greater Minneapolis Community Connections gmcc.org Indigenous Ag Education Program for Youth in White Earth Ojibwa Nation $8,000
Hmong American Farmers Association hmongfarmers.com Improving Drought and Climate Change Resilience for Hmong Farmers through Drip Irrigation Training $8,000
Honor the Earth honorearth.net Nibi Bimaatisiiwin - Water Monitoring Work $8,000
MN Renewable Now mnrenewablenow.org The Power North Program takes action on the energy burden in underserved communities. $8,000
Project Sweetie Pie projectsweetiepie.org Unrestricted $8,000
Robbinsdale Area Schools rdale.org Indigenous Outdoor Traditions $8,000